Super Mario Kart

1979113_847831291924562_1221500572124091835_oIt was cold and rainy. I was about to compete in a game I had scarcely played in 20 years. There was hot chocolate and cookies being served as people warmed up for the Super Mario Kart tournament. It was a small but enthusiastic field of racers; I lost all my confidence the moment we stepped foot in the Game Over video game store.

We got in a few practice rounds:

Myself, my brother and my nephew during the practice rounds.

Myself, my brother and my nephew during the practice rounds.

Then we raced. I did well the first round, which was VS races. The second round was Battle mode, in which I had to eliminate my cousin to move on. The final round was a GP race. I lost, finishing second. I still got a prize, and overall it was a satisfying tournament. I look forward to next time.

Me losing to first place.

Me losing to first place.

10917934_847831371924554_7404532770461704669_o

Rainbow Road, raced for fun after losing

 

 

 

 

 

pictures taken by: https://www.facebook.com/gameoverroundrock

10 responses to “Super Mario Kart

  1. Oh man, I remember old school Mario Kart! I played that all the time in middle school.

    I love that they put it on that big projector. Was it hard to see, though? It looks kinda washed-out in that photo, but that might just be the angle or the lighting.

Leave a Reply

