Retro Mini Review: Ninja Gaiden 2

I was once told, “you can’t resist the Ninja.” This is very true. Ninja Gaiden is the type of game that really draws you in; the more you play it, the more you want to play it. That’s because you are continually getting better in the most satisfying way. It demands skill, speed and precision. And that’s exactly what makes learning it so satisfying. Just during this week, I beat the game a total of six times.

One of the best things about Ninja Gaiden 2 is that it gives you incredible control over Ryu. At first it’s easy to think it’s too much. The game can be very difficult and has a steep learning curve initially but once you begin to understand the controls, the game gradually becomes easier until you are effortlessly running through segments you once thought impossible.

I had the opportunity to observe someone play who is leagues better than I am, even now that I am getting better. It was an amazing experience because I picked up tricks that I would never have thought of in my short week of playing. For example, certain enemies can be used to skip certain sections, and other times using an enemy to bounce forward can give you a short boost and saves you the time of having to kill the enemy, which is especially true when enemies are too close to the edge of a platform you’re trying to jump onto so there isn’t enough space to land in front of them.

I don’t even have to mention the visuals or the story because the game-play is so exceedingly well done. The only thing I will say is that the presentation on the cut-scenes is unmatched by any other NES game, though that bar isn’t set very high.

I have always liked Ninja Gaiden but playing through part 2 this week I have learned to appreciate it even more. This game is definitely a must play for everyone. “You can’t resist the Ninja”.

You can enjoy a bit of music from the Ninja Gaiden series:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WXihX4GIiRM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q0h5x3AxMYI#t=13m22s

And watch me beat the first level here:

Next week I will play:

Burger Time(NES) and Paper Boy(NES)

2 responses to “Retro Mini Review: Ninja Gaiden 2

Leave a Reply

