I’ve been thinking about her recently

Maybe not too recent. More recently I’ve been very depressed. This time not entirely having to do with trans stuff but instead general loneliness and being interested in a guy that doesn’t want me back(maybe I’ll write more on this later). But before that depression I was thinking about a girl from 12 years ago.

I don’t really know her at all. I was staying at my cousin’s house for the summer. I was going to play my first Starcraft match online. Because I’m stupid, I title the game “Join to die.” An opponent joins and I start the match.

I start making a few probes and a zealot. Then something is flying over me spying on me but I can’t hit it yet. “Why so slow?” she says to me.

“I don’t know,” I reply.

“How long have you been playing?” she asks.

“A couple days,” I say.

Then she starts giving me advice. “Never stop building probes.” and so forth. “Here. look at me,” she says before letting me see her units. She had the map. She had had units everywhere and three expansions. She played with me a bit longer and gave me some more tips then we quit and I never saw her again.

But I never stopped thinking about that game. I started learning to really play that day. I never got great, and I wonder if I could have ever beaten her but I got decent. I started playing Zerg like her too.

I started thinking about that game again recently because I started playing some SCII. Not a lot just the occasional game with one of the other users in the NintendoEnthusiast chat and sometimes with some guildies.

I think her name was new.girl. Without her help I don’t know if I would have learned to play Starcraft. My cousin may not have either. We talk about that game sometimes. He was watching the match. We laugh about how bad we were in comparison. How we didn’t realize how the game could be played.

I always thought it would be cool to run into her again. She did teach me how to play one of my favorite games afterall. I never did though.

Leave a Reply

