Trans In The Valley: Part 1

It would come to no surprise to anyone in the trans community that I have not met any other trans person in person. It can be lonely being trans in a smallish town. Sometimes I find myself desperately looking around for other trans people to no avail. That’s not surprising either. I have made several internet searches for support groups or any trans organizations in my area but have not found anything.

My school does have an LGBT organization which offered me some hope but they seem to have restructured themselves to be more of an outlet to seek social change. That resonates well with me in theory but the way they phrase their mission statement sounds off somehow to me. I saw that they have over 100 members. That numbers scares me. The organization not being strictly an LGBT organization is not comforting either. I just want other trans people to talk to and coming out to 100+ people without a guarantee that there will be another trans person there is not something I feel inclined to do.

Sometimes I tell random people on the internet that I am trans just so I can have someone to talk to. I have outed my back up handles. This tactic has been fruitless as well. I know I am not alone, but I can’t seem to find much company. I have one friend online who is trans and I am infinitely grateful for her being there for me.

I am hoping to write more about the trans experience in the valley. I will continue my search for support. I hope to have less lonely news in the future.

2 responses to “Trans In The Valley: Part 1

  1. Wow that must be really hard not being able to share the deeper and more real parts of yourself with others. Keeping important aspects of your personality hidden carries almost as many challenges as it does when you finally come out. I have an issue that I’ve been struggling with for the past three years and seeing a therapist is the only way I made it through. If you get someone warm, accepting, and genuine they can really be a source of emotional support while respecting your confidentiality. If there’s someone like this available to you I would urge you to do it. You shouldn’t have to be so alone with such a load on your shoulders.

    • I thought about going to a therapist but I am a very shy person and don’t really like to open up to people too easily. In addition, my city isn’t that big and there is not a huge selection of therapists that have experience dealing with trans people. My school does offer free counseling for LGBT students and I have considered calling to make an appointment but I get so busy with school I haven’t had the time yet.

Leave a Reply

